Ford Ecoboost Wins Engine of the Year Again

Ford Fiesta 2013 1024x768 Wallpaper 07

The Ford Ecoboost is the award-winning three-cylinder 1.0-liter turbocharged engine and it has once again won the International Engine of the Year award. It's the third time in a row that the pint-sized Ford Ecoboost engine has claimed victory - an astonishing achievement.

Ford Ecoboost accolades

According to Dean Slavnich, co-chairman of the annual competition, this achievement not only secures the Ford Ecoboost’s place in the history books, but is proof that this is one of the finest examples of powertrain engineering.

Ford surpassed all the other major manufactures and was awarded 351 points by the jury, which is a lot more than Ferrari’s 4.5-litre V8 engine which received 281 points, followed by VW’s 1.4 TSI with 254 points.

The engine, which powers both the Fiesta Ecoboost and EcoSport models, was also named Best Engine Under 1.0-litre, for an unprecedented third time in a row.

The award-winning engine was first launched in South Africa in 2013 with the Ford Fiesta, and will soon be available in the new Ford Focus launching in 2015.

Here is a list of all the other winners:

International Engine of the Year: Ford 999cc three-cylinder turbo

New Engine: Mercedes-AMG 2.0-litre turbo (fitted to the Mercedes-Benz A 45 AMG, CLA 45 AMG, GLA 45 AMG)

Green Engine: Tesla Full-electric powertrain

Performance Engine: Ferrari 4.5-litre V8 (fitted to the Ferrari 458)

Sub 1.0-Litre Engine: Ford 999cc three-cylinder turbo

1.0-litre to 1.4-litre: Volkswagen 1.4-litre TSI

1.4-litre to 1.8-litre: BMW/PSA Peugeot Citroen 1.6-litre turbo petrol (Fitted to the Peugeot RCZ, 208 GTI, Mini Cooper S, Citroen DS5, Citroen DS3 and more products)

1.8-litre to 2.0-litre: Mercedes-AMG 2.0-litre turbo

2.0-litre to 2.5-litre: Audi 2.5-litre five-cylinder turbo

2.5-litre to 3.0-litre: BMW 3.0-litre twin-power turbo six-cylinder petrol (Fitted to the BMW M3 and M4)

3.-0-litre to 4.0-litre: McLaren 3.8-litre V8 (Fitted to the McLaren Mp4-12C)

Above 4.0-litre: Ferrari 4.5-litre V8