The 2016 World Car Awards finalists

World Car Of The Year Awards


The finalists for the 2016 World Car Awards (WCA) have been announced.

And, the contenders for the prestigious World Car of the Year include a number of exciting newcomers to the South African market, such as the imminently arriving Audi A4 and Hyundai Tucson and some of the major introductions of 2015, such as the BMW X1Jaguar XE, Land Rover Discovery Sport (recently named Best Leisure Car in the inaugural Consumer Awards), Mazda CX-3 and Mazda MX-5 and the Mercedes-Benz GLC.

The top contenders for the 2016 World Car of the Year, World Luxury Car, World Performance Car and World Green Car were selected by a jury of 73 international motoring journalists, including consumer experience manager Hannes Oosthuizen and content manager Mike Fourie, who are the two South African representatives on the panel.

2016 marks the third consecutive year that the World Car Awards is the number one automotive awards programme in the world in terms of media reach. The top three finalists will be announced in Geneva on March 1 and the overall winners in New York on March 24.

The international accounting firm KPMG tabulated the jurors’ ballots. The finalists are:

The 2016 World Car of the Year will be selected from the following 10 finalists listed in alphabetical order.

Audi A4 Sedan / Audi A4 Avant
Hyundai Tucson
Jaguar XE
Land Rover Discovery Sport
Mazda CX-3
Mazda MX-5
Mercedes-Benz GLC
Skoda Superb
Toyota Prius

The 2016 World Luxury Car will be chosen from one of these top five finalists:

Audi Q7
BMW 7 Series (of which the local launch is currently underway)
Jaguar XF
Mercedes-Benz GLE Coupe  
Volvo XC90 (named Best Premium SUV in the inaugural Consumer Awards)

The 2016 World Performance Car top five finalists are:

Audi R8 Coupé
Chevrolet Camaro
Honda Civic Type R  
Mercedes-AMG C 63 Coupé
Range Rover Sport SVR  

The 2016 World Green Car top five are:

BMW 330e Plug-in-hybrid
Chevrolet Volt
Toyota Prius (hybrid)
Toyota Mirai (hydrogen fuel cell)
Volkswagen Passat GTE

Meanwhile, a design panel comprising six respected world design experts produced a short-list of recommendations for the jurors in the World Car Design of the Year category. The finalists are Cadillac CT6, Mazda CX-3Mazda MX-5Jaguar XE and Land Rover Discovery Sport.

We will report on the announcement of the top three finalists in each of the categories of the 2016 World Car Awards (WCA) programme during the upcoming Geneva Show.