New Format for Jaguar Simola Hillclimb 2017


Things are set to change at this year’s Jaguar Simola Hillclimb with fewer classes and three King of the Hill trophies up for grabs.

In order to make this year’s Hillclimb a little fairer, the organisers have decided to split the overall winners into three separate categories. First off are road-going saloon cars, these are in Class A, with the fastest 10 going through to a King of the Hill final shootout. Class A is still split up into 9 different classes so there will still be a chance for the lesser-powered cars to pick up some silverware.

Class B is for modified racing saloons. The fastest 10 cars in this category will then fight it out for their own King of the Hill trophy. Again, this class is split up into smaller classes to compensate for engine capacity, aspiration method and driven wheels.

The final class is Class C that will comprise single-seaters and sports racing cars. This is the class where we’ll see current reigning champ Franco Scribante compete.

That means there will be 3 overall winners for this year’s Jaguar Simola Hillclimb. The trophies will be called "Jody" trophies, named after Scheckter, South Africa’s F1 world champion.

Tickets are already on sale for the event that takes place over the 4-7 May 2017. You can purchase tickets at

Related content:

Ashley Oldfield Wins Hillclimb Challenge
5 cool cars from 2016 Jaguar Simola Hillclimb
SentiMETAL Ep 1: A 400 000-mile Jaguar E-Type love affair [Video]
Stunning Classic Bimmers at BMW 100 Festival [Video]
A day at BMW Classic's HQ [with Gallery]
2015 Jaguar Simola Hillclimb - Highlights