Lexus RX Range gets Upgrade

New Lexus Rx South Africa

The Lexus RX range has received an upgrade for 2012. The Lexus RX range now includes three new models namely the RX 350, the RX 450h and the new RX 450h F-Sport hybrid model. All the models in the RX range exhibit Lexus’ ‘L-finesse’ design philosophy incorporating ‘Leading-edge’ design and ‘finesse’ into its styling.

Lexus RX Range – Specifications and Features

Engine Range

The Lexus RX 350 is fitted with a 3.5-litre V6 petrol engine that produces 204kW of power while delivering 346Nm of torque. This model displays a fuel consumption figure of 10.6-litres/100km with a CO2 emissions figure of 250g/km. The RX 350 makes use of a 6-speed automatic transmission and will achieve 100km/h in 8 seconds.

The Lexus RX 450h SE features an 183kW 3.5-litre V6 petrol engine combined with an 116kW electric motor with a sealed nickel hydride battery pack. The RX 450h with SE specification achieves 6.3-litres/100km with a CO2 emissions figure of 148g/km. This model makes use of an eCVT gearbox and will reach 100km/h in 7.8 seconds.

The RX 450h F-Sport shares the same powertrain as the as the RX 450h but comes with F-sport style and performance enhancements.

Exterior and Interior Styling Upgrades

Lexus’ new Spindle Grille design defines the new Lexus RX range and is accented by revised headlights which include Daytime Running Lights (DRLs) along with a new bumper, fog light design and new rear lights. Enhancements on the RX 450h F-Sport include a model-unique front design with a more vertical front bumper that incorporates a bigger lower section of the Spindle Grille. The F-Sport also benefits from 19-inch alloy wheels, exclusive alloy pedals, shift lever, steering wheel, scuff plates and decals along with a lateral performance damper system that reduces vibrations and improves ride quality.

The interior incorporates a second generation Remote Touch Interface (RTI) that interacts with the onboard information, navigation and ventilation system. The RTI features the world’s first slide-type joystick control mechanism that acts much a like a computer mouse. In the Lexus RX 450h model, various driving modes are available to the driver including a new Sport mode along with the existing Normal, EV and Eco drive modes.

Standard Features

The Lexus RX 350 in EX trim features HID headlights with Daytime Running Lights (DRLs), natural leather seats, 8-way power seat adjustment with driver memory and heating, leather steering wheel, leather gear lever, cruise control, keyless entry, instrumentation with Head-Up-Display (HUD, voice recognition, 12-speaker audio system with DVD and Bluetooth, navigation, moonroof and electric tailgate.

The Lexus RX 450h in SE trim features LED AFS headlights, semi-aniline leather seats, heated and cooled front seats, roof rails, 10-way power front seats, wooden steering wheel and gear lever and a 15-speaker Mark Levinson audio system with DVD. The RX450h F-Sport has similar equipment to the RX 350.

Lexus RX – Price (VAT incl.)

Lexus RX 350 EX 3.5 V6 R644 000
Lexus RX 450h SE 3.5 V6 R768 000
Lexus RX 450h F-Sport 3.5 V6 R755 000