2019 World Car of the Year - Meet The Finalists

It's that time of the year again. The World Car of the Year is in its 15th year and the finalists have been announced for 2019.

The World Car of the Year is broken into 6 World Car Awards categories. Judged by a panel of 86 motoring journalists from around the world, the World Car of the Year is arguably the most prestigious when it comes to recognising excellence. Our very own Consumer Experience Manager Hannes Oosthuizen is 1 of only 2 South African judges on the illustrious panel.

The judges are only allowed to score vehicles they have driven, and award points in sections labelled Value, Safety, Environment, Emotional Appeal, Market Significance etc. Some of these cars are not available in South Africa but feel free to click on selected highlighted vehicles to read more about them.

Top Ten World Car of the Year finalists

Audi e-tron
BMW 3 Series
Ford Focus
Genesis G70
Hyundai Nexo
Jaguar I-PACE
Mercedes-Benz A-Class
Suzuki Jimny
Volvo S60/V60
Volvo XC40 (Cars Awards winner)

Top 5 World Urban Car finalists

Audi A1
Hyundai AH2 / Santro
Kia Soul
SEAT Arona
Suzuki Jimny

Top 5 World Luxury Car finalists

Audi A7
Audi Q8
BMW 8 Series
Mercedes-Benz CLS
Volkswagen Touareg

World Performance Car top 5 finalists

Aston Martin Vantage
BMW M2 Competition
Hyundai Veloster N
McLaren 720S
Mercedes-Benz AMG 4-door Coupe

World Green Car 5 finalists

Audi e-tron
Honda Clarity Plug-In Hybrid
Hyundai Nexo
Jaguar I-Pace
Kia Niro EV

World Car Design of the Year

Citroen C5 Aircross
Jaguar E Pace
Jaguar I PACE
Suzuki Jimny
Volvo XC40

Judging car design requires a specialised skillset and 7 highly-respected design experts have been called upon to share their expertise. Anne Asensio (France - Vice-President, Design - Dassault Systemes), Gernot Bracht (Germany - Pforzheim Design School),  Patrick le Quément(France - Designer and President of the Strategy Committee - The Sustainable Design School), Sam Livingstone (U.K.  - Car Design Research and Royal College of Art), Tom Matano (USA - School of Industrial Design at Academy of Art University in San Francisco), Gordon Murray (U.K. - Gordon Murray Design) and Shiro Nakamura (Japan - CEO, Shiro Nakamura Design Associates Inc.).

Further Reading

2018/19 Cars.co.za Consumer Awards – powered by WesBank; Finalists

Winners: 2018/19 Cars.co.za Consumer Awards – powered by WesBank

Cars Coming to SA in 2019